Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

IASA Malaysia chapter plays key role in developing the certification framework

AvantiKumar | March 17, 2010
New IASA IT Architecture certification programme promises industry's most comprehensive training.

KUALA LUMPUR, 17 MARCH 2010 The Malaysia chapter of professional body The International Association of Software Architects (IASA) has played a key role in introducing the IASA IT Architecture Certification Programme. This is an independent industry certification for IT architects.

Speaking during the launch ceremony, IASA Malaysia chapter president, Hasan Ganny, said: IASA is committed to helping Malaysia's IT industry adopt global best practices and to nurture the development of a world-class workforce of highly skilled IT professionals. The ceremony was held at the MSC [Multimedia Supercorridor] Malaysia Innovation Centre in Cyberjaya.

Through the efforts of our local IASA chapter, Malaysia has taken the lead in promoting awareness and adoption of sound IT architecture principles in 10 countries across the Asia Pacific, said Ganny. With the introduction of the IT Architecture Certification Programme, IASA is laying down a career development path that will give IT professionals comprehensive industry training on their way to becoming IT architects.

MSC Malaysia has been a strong proponent for the adoption of global standards best practices by Malaysian companies and IT professionals, said government ICT agency Multimedia Development Corporation [MDeC] head of capability development department, Dr. Karl Ng.

To this end, MSC Malaysia Capability Development Programme (CDP) offers 14 organisational development programmes and CDP Professional Development to assist MSC Malaysia Status companies to enhance their capabilities and global competitiveness, said Ng.

MSC Malaysia has worked closely with IASA and together we hosted the 5th IT Architect Regional Conference Malaysia 2009, he said.

Established in 2002, IASA is an international non-profit business association dedicated to the advancement and sharing of issues related to software architecture in the enterprise, product, education and government sectors. IASA has about 10,000 members located in more than 40 countries.

The MSC Malaysia Capability Development Programme is an MDeC initiative designed to help ICT companies and individuals adopt global good practices, process improvements and professional certifications. To-date, more than 1600 companies have benefited from these programmes which offer awareness dialogues, workshops and incentives to adopt global standards.

Comprehensive five-tier programme

IASA's Ganny said that the IASA IT Architecture certification programme offered the IT industry's most comprehensive definition of levels of proficiency in IT architecture. The programme comprised five levels of tiered professional certification:

Level 0 - Certificate in Fundamental Knowledge of IT Architecture
Level 1 - IASA Foundation Certified (IFC)
Level 2 - IASA Associate Certified (IAC)
Level 3 - Board Certified IT Architect Professional (Board CITA Professional)
Level 4 - Board Certified IT Architect Master (Board CITA Master)

Malaysia has been actively contributing IP [intellectual property] toward the IT Architecture Book of Knowledge (ITABOK) since our Chapter began in 2004, he said. The idea to introduce a formalised certification programme originated with the IASA Malaysia Chapter and we have been actively contributing toward developing the skill sets library, curriculum and content for the various training courses.


1  2  Next Page 

Sign up for MIS Asia eNewsletters.