Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

The five stages of social technology

Michael Hugos | Sept. 18, 2012
Like it or not, approve of it or not, social technology is driving the world that companies do business in.

We're all going through a big transition. We can try to regulate and repress social technology, or we can accept that it sometimes brings us things we don't like. We can try to muzzle social technology in a bid to perpetuate the old order for a few more years, or we can harness the power of social technology to communicate, collaborate and innovate. I wonder which approach will prove to be more successful.

In her book On Death and Dying, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross introduced a model widely known as "The Five Stages of Grief". Grief happens whenever we go through a transition from the familiar present to an unfamiliar future - and that's what's happening in a big way these days in a number of different areas.

The five stages are:

1) DENIAL - as in "Everything is fine," and "Nothing is happening."

2) ANGER - as in "Who is to blame?" and "Why is this happening now?"

3) BARGAINING - as in "I'll do anything to get a few more years."

4) DEPRESSION - as in "I'm so down, why bother anymore..."

5) ACCEPTANCE - as in "It's going to be OK," and "We can handle this."

The denial stage of the last several years is coming to an end and now we're entering the anger stage. This too shall pass, as will the bargaining and depression stages.

The power and the promise is in the acceptance stage. I wonder how long it will take us to get there.




Previous Page  1  2 

Sign up for MIS Asia eNewsletters.