Subscribe / Unsubscribe Enewsletters | Login | Register

Pencil Banner

The Gold Standard in Malaysia: Computerworld Readers Choice Awards 2014

Computerworld Malaysia Editorial Staff | Oct. 9, 2014
HP and Microsoft secure a cool dozen out of 41 available categories at Computerworld Malaysia Readers Choice Awards 2014, which also sees new award winning companies entering the elite for the first time.

CWM RCA 2014 Awards modified 

Photo - Some of the 2014 Computerworld Malaysia Readers Choice Awards. stand ready and waiting.


 Hewlett-Packard Malaysia (HP Malaysia) and Microsoft Malaysia became the biggest winners at the 13th edition of the Computerworld Malaysia Readers Choice Awards (RCA), grabbing 12 out of the 41 available categories. Commonly acknowledged as the 'Oscars of the Malaysia IT industry', the awards were presented tonight (October 8, 2014) at the Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur Hotel.

HP Malaysia and Microsoft Malaysia took the lion's share of the awards with 6 trophies each. Other star performers were:
IBM Malaysia with five awards; Cisco Systems Malaysia and SAP Malaysia with three awards each; and, Fortinet, SAS Institute, Symantec Corporation, VADS Berhad and VMware with two each.

The honour roll also includes: Citrix, Fuji Xerox Malaysia, Kaspersky Lab, Lenovo Malaysia, Riverbed Technology, Samsung Malaysia Electronics, Schneider Electric and Trend Micro Malaysia.

The Awards go to vendors, products, services or solution families that score the highest in the areas of price, performance, feature sets, reliability and ease of use. Computerworld Malaysia readers do the actual evaluation and then participate in an online survey.

Every year, Executive Networks Research, the research arm of Executive Networks Media, conducts the awards survey on behalf of Computerworld Malaysia, following industry best practices to deliver statistically valid results from the country's qualified information and communication executives, including Computerworld Malaysia readers.

There are altogether 41 categories divided into nine award sections: Communications, Cloud, Enterprise Applications, Hardware, Platform and Tools, Security, Services, Storage and Virtualisation. In total, there were close to 1,000 product and service contenders for the Awards this year.
The Gold Standard

HP Malaysia's wins were in the following categories: Storage Management Software; Entry-Level Servers; Mid-Range Servers; High-End Enterprise Servers; Support and Maintenance; and Data Centre and Hosting.

Microsoft Malaysia's were in: Platform-as-a-Service Provider; Application Servers Software; IT Asset Management System; Customer Relationship Management; Collaboration Platform; and Enterprise Content Management.

During his welcome note, Mark Hobson, Chief Executive Officer, Executive Networks Media commended all award winning companies. "Despite budget constraints and the continuing saga of transformation, it is inspiring to see the innovative drive to perfection displayed by solutions providers here. By further building on partnership roles with their customers, the winners have set the Gold Standard of operating excellence even higher."

After adding his congratulations, AvantiKumar, Editor, Computerworld Malaysia, said: "Having had the privilege of seeing eight editions of RCA cycles in Malaysia, it is interesting to note the beginnings of a shakeup in the local market with, for example, first RCA wins in Malaysia by companies such as Riverbed, and VADS [as a separate entity from Telekom Malaysia]: these changes point to a healthy trend for the industry."

The Honour Roll


1  2  3  Next Page 

Sign up for MIS Asia eNewsletters.